Fortune-less Cookie

We ordered Chinese food last night. You always get giant portions and have no choice but to save the rest for later. I had shrimp with garlic sauce and it was delicious though on the menu it says my dish comes with water chestnuts, my favorite, and when our delivery finally came my meal was sans chestnuts! (Unimportant, but still disappointing.) I ate about half and put the rest away for a midnight snack. 

Earlier, I got a ridiculous hunger pang. I guess I forgot to eat again. Looking around the house all I found was a loaf of bread and the fortune cookie left over from my dinner. “We really need to go grocery shopping,” I thought out loud as I grabbed my cookie. I was hoping for some uplifting bit of hope from my fortune. Something like “Money is coming your way,” or “Happiness is right around the corner.” I opened my cookie and there was nothing in it. No fortune. No lucky numbers. 

What the hell is that about? I just wanted a little pick-me-up for my somber state of being. Am I so pathetic that I can’t even get a fortune cookie right? Of all the mass-produced shit in the world, I had to find myself with a fortune-less fortune cookie. But I guess at that point, it’s just a cookie. Sure, I know it means nothing. But damn.

Now I’m out of cigarettes and my Internet connection is going in and out. I guess this would be a good time to tackle my Happy Planner. 

Leave a Reply

