Might Have Found A Silver Lining

Not ready to accept defeat (on either end), I took my ass to the gas station I used to work at and talked to the only two people left from when I was working there five years ago, one of which is the store manager now. To say this was not an easy thing for me to do would be an understatement. I just wanted to see my options for staying in town, so I don’t disrupt my relationship any more. 

Store manager told me the starting pay is almost FOUR DOLLARS MORE than it was back in 2011. I couldn’t help but think If all these employees are making this to do such an easy job, how is it every time I go in there nothing is getting done? While it may seem I’m exaggerating, I’m not. Let’s say there are four people working on a shift and a line wrapping around the store. Three out of the four are nowhere to be found, while one takes their time ringing up each customer-oftentimes forgetting to set their pump if they are prepaying for gas. Me not wanting to work there has a lot to do with the fact that I know I’ll be stuck picking up all the slack for these assholes. I was told however that I could get a midshift, part morning/part afternoon and home in time for dinner. I’ll be getting a call to discuss further after she looks over the schedule for the next couple of weeks. I’ll be making more yet I’ll also be more annoyed with my coworkers. It’s only temporary. 

In Other News, I have had an ongoing child support case against my ex since my youngest was a little over a year old. He never showed up to the court hearing, was given an amount to pay each month (if they could track him down), with promise of legal action if balance was left unpaid. Four years later and they haven’t tracked him down. If he gets put on paper for a job, he quits once the “employment verification” from the Attorney General is sent to the company. They could run his social security number but as he doesn’t have a home, a car, or a job they can’t locate him. Until today, when a mutual friend  (who just got out of prison and has turned his life around) sent me a screenshot of his current jail record. He is locked up (not the first time, hopefully they keep him this time) for possession of a controlled substance and credit card abuse. He got picked up on Black Friday. This drugged out idiot thought that, on the heaviest shopping day of the year, he could scrape by using someone else’s card. I called the child support office to inform them of his whereabouts. As I expected, they told me they would have to recieve confirmation before they could take action. So I’ll be calling often over the next week or two to make sure they get him before he’s released. 

I want to talk about yesterday, but I haven’t really had much time to myself. He works tomorrow evening, I can be alone with my words. 

Leave a Reply

